Discover what’s happening right now.
Victoria Park once consisted of a large house, known as Swinton Old Hall, and its surrounding estate. It was acquired by the Borough of Swinton and Pendlebury and opened as a public park in 1897. Around the same time the bandstand was built to commemorate the sixtieth year of the reign of Queen Victoria. At one time the park boasted fourteen glasshouses on the site of the bowling green and croquet lawn. The house was demolished in 1993 and later replaced by the current Fountains private care home, but the public park continues to flourish.