Discover what’s happening right now.
Ellenroad Engine House
Built in 1892 on the banks of the River Beal, the Ellenroad cotton mill produced fine cotton yarn using mule spinning. Nowadays, Ellenroad Engine House is home to the largest surviving, spinning-mill steam engine. See the restored 3,000 horsepower twin engines, Victoria and Alexandra, the 80 ton flywheel, Whitelees beam engine (1842) and 1921 steam generator in action. The engine house is in steam on the first Sunday of each month (except January) admission from 11am, steaming 12.00 to 4pm. Most steaming days feature other events. The engine house is also open but not in steam on Tuesdays & Sundays and the saturdays before steaming. There are many other engines, pumps and artifacts on view and a 1907 mill engine is being rebuilt for exhibition.