The dramatic 14thC castle built by the mighty Nevilles has been home to Lord Barnard's family since 1626.
In the well-preserved halls and chambers history comes vibrantly to life. Throughout the castle the rooms display fine furniture, impressive artwork and elaborate architecture.
Visitors can also enjoy the deer park, large walled gardens, coach and carriage collection, woodland adventure playground, picnic area and gift shop. Part of the stables has been converted to a tearoom where former stalls have been incorporated to create an atmospheric setting. Events take place throughout the summer. The castle is open from 1300 to 1630 and the park and gardens open from 1000 to 1700.